Local Conservation Areas Offer Year-Round Activities
Many Conservation Areas are open year-round for visitors and winter can be the perfect time to enjoy the great outdoors in these parks.
The Dundas Valley offers hiking, snowshoeing and cross country skiing on 40 kilometers of trails.
Valens offers winter camping, ice fishing, ice skating, hiking and cross country skiing on their 10kms of trails
Christie Lake offers many kilometres of trails for cross-country skiing and snowshoeing.
Check you your local conservation area for other programs:
Tis (the beginning of) the season …
It’s only November and the holiday spirit is already in evidence. Why not prepare for the festive season by taking part in the holiday traditions happening in and around the communities in RAHB’s market area? (more…)
A genuine “community of communities”, Flamborough is comprised of many villages and hamlets, including Carlisle, Christie’s Corners, Clappison’s Corners, Copetown, Freelton, Greensville, Lynden, Kirkwall, Millgrove, Mountsberg, Orkney, Rockton, Troy, Sheffield, Valens, Waterdown and Westover.
Population: 39,220 (Census 2006).
Geographic Location: RAHB’s districts: 40, 43, 44, 45 and 46. Most of Flamborough is located on the Niagara Escarpment.
- There is evidence of a long history of human occupation in the area, dating back to Paleo-Indian cultures.
- The first Europeans to arrive were the French explorers LaSalle and Joliet, who met near what is now Westover, in 1669.
- United Empire Loyalists arrived after the American Revolution in 1783.
- The Township of Flamborough was established in 1792 and was named after the Flamborough Head, a prominent geographical formation, and the Town of Flamborough in East Yorkshire, England.
- The land was surveyed and organized into townships: East Flamborough, West Flamborough and Beverly. These three townships and the Village of Waterdown made up Wentworth County in 1816.
- With a reorganization of the county system in 1854, Flamborough was divided into two separate townships – East and West Flamborough.
- Flamborough became a major 19th century industrial and residential centre when the Honourable James Crooks the water power from Grindstone Creek and Spencer Creek to run saw mills, grist mills, flourmills and one of the first large-scale paper mills in Upper Canada.
- In 1974, the Hamilton-Wentworth Region was created by joining Hamilton and Flamborough Township, which at that time consisted of East Flamborough, West Flamborough, Beverly and the Village of Waterdown.
- In 2001, the Provincial Government replaced the Regional Government with a new single tier municipality called the City of Hamilton.
Places of Interest:
- African Lion Safari is one of the Ontario’s key tourist attractions, with more than 1,000 animals representing more than 100 species. The park has bred 50 species considered endangered or threatened. http://www.lionsafari.com [Discounted tickets are available in the Realty Shoppe (May to October)]
- The Bruce Trail is Canada’s oldest and longest marked trail, running along the Niagara Escarpment. It provides an impressive wilderness experience for hikers of all levels. brucetrail.org
- Spencer Gorge/Webster’s Falls Conservation Area in Greensville is a significant natural area that contains two waterfalls: Webster’s and Tews Falls. cityofwaterfalls.ca
Sources: Wikipedia; Flamborough Chamber of Commerce; HPL- Historical Flamborough
Glanbrook is a community with small town character, a diversified economy and proximity to all the amenities of the big city. (more…)
Hamilton, the fifth largest city in Ontario and the tenth largest in Canada, is a mix of big city appeal and small town quaintness thanks to its many and diverse communities.
Hamilton has been known by various nicknames, including “The Birmingham of Canada”, “The Ambitious City”, “The Electric City”, “Hammer Town” and “Steel Town”. The city may be known as Steel Town but in reality, Hamilton today employs more people in health care than in industry. (more…)
Smithville has a rich historical background and strong agricultural roots, and is considered “the hub of the Niagara Peninsula”. (more…)
Hagersville is a small urban community surrounded by prime agricultural land and renowned for its community Farmer’s Market (founded in 1892) and famousHewitt’s Dairy Bar, part of the community since 1887. (more…)
Stoney Creek is best known as the site of the Battle of Stoney Creek – a pivotal battle between a small force of British soldiers and a larger number of American troops in the War of 1812. (more…)
Perched on the banks of the Grand River, Cayuga is well known for its iconic heritage bridge and its drag strip, a hot track for stock car racing, drag racing and motorsports. (more…)
Located in the heart of Flamborough, this historic village was an important mill town from 1800 to the early 1900’s. Today the ‘Victorian Village’ is a vibrant, fast-growing service community. (more…)
Caledonia is a small, picturesque riverside community located on the Canadian Heritage Grand River in Haldimand County.
Population: approx 10,000 (2011)
Geographic location: 10 km south of Hamilton and 10 km north of Hagersville, at the corners of Highway 6 (Argyle St.) and Regional Road 54 (Caithness St.).
- Established as a community during the Grand River Navigation Company days (circa 1832), Caledonia was once a small strip of land between Seneca and Oneida villages. By the early 1830s the Grand River Navigation System, running between Port Maitland and Brantford, began to take shape. The system’s east and west villages of Seneca and Oneida amalgamated to become Caledonia through the entrepreneurial developments of Ronald McKinnon, considered to be Caledonia’s founder.
- Caledonia became incorporated as a village in 1844 and later as a town.
- In 1974, the town was amalgamated into the new town of Haldimand within the Regional Municipality of Haldimand-Norfolk.
- In 2001, Haldimand and all other municipalities within the region were dissolved and the region was divided into two single tier municipalities with city-status but called counties. Caledonia is now an unincorporated community in Ward 3 of Haldimand County.
- In 2006, the Grand River land dispute involving First Nation land claims brought Caledonia to national attention.
Points of Interest:
The Caledonia Bridge is a nine-span bridge over the Grand River and is the only bridge of its kind in Canada. It is also known as the Grand River Bridge.
The Caledonia Mill was built between 1846 and 1853 and is the last mill of its type remaining in the Grand River Watershed. This huge frame building operated as a flour and grist mill right until the late 1960’s. It is currently under restoration.
The Caledonia Toll House is the third oldest building in Caledonia, after Haldimand House and the Caledonia Mill. The toll house is currently a private residence, and is said to be haunted.
Haldimand House, located in the heart of Caledonia, is one of the oldest and most prominent local landmarks.
The Grand River flows through Caledonia and is truly a “Grand” experience offering activities such as boating, fishing, water skiing, swimming or just relaxing. Leisurely drives along the Grand are a great way to explore the river for a day, a weekend or a week.
The Caledonia Grand Trunk Station was built in 1908. Passenger service ended in 1957 while the express parcel service continued until 1977. CNR used the station as a maintenance depot until 1988. Renovations began in September, 1996 and the station was officially reopened November 27, 1997. Today, the station is once again a busy spot accommodating the office of the Caledonia Regional Chamber of Commerce, a year-round Tourist Information Centre, meeting space for Chamber and other community activities, plus other meetings and displays.
Caledonia’s Trails and Pathways include Chippewa Trail, Kinsmen Park Walkway, Patterson Walkway, Ramsay Walkway, Rotary Riverside Trail and Thistlemoor Park Pathway. www.haldimandcounty.on.ca
The Caledonia Mill is the home to one of the largest winter light displays in Southern Ontario. The display runs from late November to early January and attracts thousands. The mill is located just downstream from the Caledonia dam.
The Caledonia County Fair is held annually in September at the Caledonia fairgrounds on Highway 54. The fair features livestock shows, home crafts, entertainment, food and the midway. www.caledoniafair.ca
Sources – Caledonia Regional Chamber of Commerce; Haldimand County websites; Wikipedia; Grand River County; photo courtesy of Lynn Adams
Nestled between beautiful Lake Ontario and the majestic Niagara Escarpment, the picturesque town of Grimsby is known as “the gateway between Hamilton and Niagara” and serves as the starting point for touring the Niagara wine region. Grimsby, where the slogan is “Friendly by Nature”, is a town rich in history and heritage, vibrant in arts and culture, and a place where country wineries and seasonal fruit stands feature locally grown products. The downtown core is the heart and soul of Grimsby and offers a variety of specialty shops, bistros and stores for everyone. (more…)