Trudeau’s federal cabinet has grown by two spots reaching 36 members this term. Below is a full list of the new cabinet. We have noted the cabinet ministers who are from RAHB’s market area at the top

RAHB-area cabinet ministers:

  • Karina Gould: Minister of International Development
  • Filomena Tassi: Minister of Labour.

And the remainder of Trudeau’s new cabinet is as follows:

  • Chrystia Freeland: Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Intergovernmental Minister Affairs.
  • Anita Anand: Minister of Public Services and Procurement.
  • Navdeep Bains: Minister of Innovation, Science and Industry.
  • Carolyn Bennett: Minister of Crown-Indigenous relations.
  • Marie-Claude Bibeau: Minister of Agriculture and Agri-food
  • Bill Blair: Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness.
  • Bardish Chagger: Minister of Diversity, Inclusion and Youth.
  • Francois-Philippe Champagne: Minister of Foreign Affairs.
  • Jean-Yves Duclos: President of the Treasury Board.
  • Mona Fortier: Minister of Middle Class Prosperity and Associate Minister of Finance.
  • Marc Garneau: Minister of Transport.
  • Steven Guilbeault: Minister of Canadian Heritage.
  • Patty Hajdu: Minister of Health.
  • Ahmed Hussen: Minister of Families, Children and Social Development.
  • Melanie Joly: Minister of Economic Development and Official Languages.
  • Bernadette Jordan: Minister of Fisheries, Oceans and the Canadian Coast Guard.
  • David Lametti: Minister of Justice and Attorney General.
  • Dominic LeBlanc: President of the Queen’s Privy Council for Canada.
  • Diane Lebouthillier: Minister of National Revenue.
  • Lawrence MacAulay: Minister of Veteran Affairs and Associate Minister of Defense.
  • Catherine McKenna: Minister of Infrastructure and Communities.
  • Marco E. L. Mendicino: Minister of Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship.
  • Marc Miller: Minister of Indigenous Services.
  • Maryam Monsef: Minister of Women and Gender Equality and Rural Economic Development.
  • Bill Morneau: Minister of Finance.
  • Joyce Murray: Minister of Digital Government.
  • Mary Ng: Minister of Small Business, Export Promotion and International Trade.
  • Seamus O’Regan: Minister of Natural Resources.
  • Carla Qualtrough: Minister of Employment, Workforce Development and Disability Inclusion.
  • Pablo Rodriguez: Leader of the Government in the House of Commons
  • Harjit Sajjan: Minister of National Defense.
  • Deb Schulte: Minister of Seniors.
  • Dan Vandal: Minister of Northern Affairs.
  • Jonathan Wilkinson: Minister of Environment and Climate Change.
  • Jim Carr: the Prime Minister’s special representative for the Prairies.

Below is an overview of the promotions, demotions and cabinet rookies.


Name Previous Title/Job New Title/Job
Chrystia Freeland Global Affairs Minister Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Intergovernmental Affairs
François-Philippe Champagne Infrastructure Minister Global Affairs Minister
Jonathan Willkison Fisheries Minister Environment and climate change files
Seamus O’Regan Indigenous Services Natural resources
Pablo Rodriguez Heritage Minister Government House Leader and cabinet point personal on all matters Quebec


Name Previous Title/Job New Title/Job
Bardish Chagger Government House Leader Portfolio of diversity, inclusion and youth
Kristy Duncan Minister of Science and Sports Deputy House Leader
Ginette Petitpas Taylor Minister of Health Deputy Government Whip

Cabinet Rookies

Cabinet Rookies
Name Previous Title/Job New Title/Job
Anita Anand Law Professor at the University of Toronto Minister of Public Works and Procurements
Steven Guilbeault Environmentalist from Montreal Heritage files
Mona Fortier Director of Communications for La Cité Collégiale Minister of Middle-Class Prosperity and Associate Finance Minister
Marco Mendicino Federal Prosecutor Immigration Minister
Marc Miller Lawyer for Stikeman Elliott LLP Minister of Indigenous Services
Deb Schulte Local and Regional Councillor for the Vaughan City Council and York Regional Council Minister of Seniors
Dan Vandal MP for Saint Boniface—Saint Vital Minister of Northern Affairs

If you have any questions regarding the government relations efforts of RAHB, please contact Wendy in the RAHB Office at or 905.529.8101 x295.